Documents are content objects and represent an individual entity of data, e.g. a page, a product a single element of a website or a data object for a list. The schema of a
documentis defined in a content type.
At the top right corner of the webapp, you'll find a button with a 'Plus'-icon. On the dropdown menu you can choose from which type you want to create a document.
This is the place where editors compose and edit documents. It consists of two main parts, the Content Area and the Sidebar.
All of the fields defined for a
content typeappear on the left, main part of the Writing Room screen:
The sidebar gives you overview and control over a document:
With revisions you can review and restore changes or versions of a document. Click the tab 'Revisions' to view and choose from different versions of your content.
You can preview and restore different versions of a document. If the document is published, you can decide to restore a version as draft.
You can create drafts for published documents if the content needs to be reviewed before it gets published, or if you are being interrupted while updating a document.
Draft mode is available when a document has the
Control wether a document is published or unpublished by clicking the desired state.
Save the document for the publishing state to take effect.
Documents, e.g. an event, can be published automatically at a certain point in time. They can also be set to unpublished at a date or time, e.g. a few days after the event was over. Leave the field blank if you do not want to enable an option.
If you'd like to remove a document from collections after it was unpublished, simply enable the checkbox 'Unpublish and move to Archive'.
Tags are used to describe a documents content or purpose. They may also be used as a filter argument to include or exclude documents from collections.
You can filter translatable fields of a language by selecting the corresponding tab on the top of the Writing Room. Locales can be managed in the settings area of a repository.
The language tabs
To delete a document you'll need to move it to the Archive first. You can do this by either (1) choosing it from any collection or the
All Documentsview by selecting the corresponding checkbox and clicking the 'Trashcan'-Button. Or (2) while in the
Writing Room, open the Save Buttons context menu on the sidebar and click 'Move to Archive'.
Archivecollects all of the documents you decided to move their manually, or automatically at a certain point of time, configured in the Writing Room. To delete a document permanently:
- 2.Select documents by clicking their checkbox.
- 3.Once you have selected the documents you want to delete, click the 'Trashcan' Button.